Archinect
anchor

Carpenter to Architect/civil engineer

sb557

Hi,

Just wondering if anyone has found themselves in a similar situation and has 2 cents they could spare. I am a Carpenter/builder  who is interested in pursuing civil engineering/architecture. My grand plan is to open my own cool design and construct firm, with a focus on sustainable building practices, materials development and Progressive designs. I completed a diploma of engineering last year (which is essentially 1st year of a BS) and am set to start my second year in a month, im also 30. The uni im at offers an architectual engineering degree and im thinking of doing a double in civil/archeng.  Would this degree be enough to get my foot in the door at some design firms/without doing a masters? Is doing archeng a good idea? Just hoping to get some opinons as i dont know anyone who has gone down this path.

Cheers!

Jan 24, 22 5:05 pm
Wood Guy

I got into carpentry and design in high school, got a BS in structural engineering and worked as a carpenter/builder for ten years before getting a job as a drafter/designer. Fifteen years later I'm still a residential designer but compete with architects on a similar level (and fee). I never worked in an architecture or engineering firm, only design/build firms, so I can't say what degree path you should follow. I can say that most of my favorite architects have spent time building houses. 

Jan 24, 22 5:20 pm  · 
2  · 
atelier nobody

If you want to become a licensed architect down the line, you'll want either an accredited BArch or MArch (depending on where you are, there might be a path to licensure without the degree, but as a person who took that route myself, I don't recommend it). If you're not concerned with the license, then an engineering degree with carpentry experience would certainly be enough to get you hired in many firms, and having a career like Wood Guy's would certainly be a realistic goal.

Jan 24, 22 6:32 pm  · 
1  · 
Wood Guy