Archinect
anchor

Future M.Arch applicant -what to do over summer?

thompsonarch

I'm a sophomore Art History/Studio Art major with intentions to pursue an M.Arch 1 after undergrad. I'm sort of at a loss for what do over the summer. Most importantly I know I need to build my portfolio.

An internship or experience in the field would be ideal, but what good is my liberal arts degree at a firm? How would I even market myself?

I could do a summer intensive like Design Discovery, but would that be better kept for the summer after my junior year?

I live in Georgia, so maybe I could take some summer classes at SCAD and build some interesting portfolio pieces?

Any advice or suggestions would be very much appreciated. Thanks. 

Jan 21, 22 1:23 pm
Non Sequitur

work in construction.

Jan 21, 22 4:20 pm  · 
2  · 
gibbost

^ This. Do this. Not only will you learn what can't/won't be taught in school. But you will also gain incredible insight into what folks in the field go thru to execute your design. Appreciation for the trades has determined my outcomes for success in this field more than anything else.

Jan 21, 22 5:39 pm  · 
1  · 
randomised

travel the world

Jan 21, 22 5:16 pm  · 
1  · 
atelier nobody

Both of the above are excellent suggestions.

I'll add that you might be able to find an architecture firm that will take you on as a "gofer" even with no architectural education under your belt yet, so you'll at least be getting exposure to the environment.

Jan 21, 22 5:22 pm  · 
1  · 
hiall

If you have money which I assume you do because you are pursuing M.arch ( very expensive programs ), I would recommend you to take some design studio courses from universities that provide M.arch programs. ( UC Berkeley, GSD Discovery, and many many others )  . I think it will help you to create some content for your portfolio and situate in the design studio environment. 

Jan 21, 22 5:28 pm  · 
 · 
reallynotmyname