Archinect
anchor

masters in different field into m.arch/phd...?

boy racer

hey everyone,

i'm currently a masters student in the history of science, I expect to be finishing next Spring (2023) and will apply to phd programs this fall (2022). during my program I found my niche within architectural history and infrastructure studies and am planning to apply to phd programs in architecture and history. i did my undergrad in economics, but if i could go back, I would do it in architecture... are there any accredited programs that could accommodate a masters student? I know I can just do a masters, but I feel like that would be a serious time sink seeing as I am already doing a masters in the first place right now. I dont wanna be the guy with two masters... Too bad there are no accredited phd programs, except for a program at the university of hawaii but that sounds blegh. I am also interested in both how to be an architect and the theory/history/design of architecture...

thx

Jan 19, 22 11:34 pm
Non Sequitur

want to be an architect? take an accredited M.arch. Not many other shortcuts. Phd is mostly for academic goals, not professional practice. Don’t be that guy with a grocery list of degrees but zero work experience fighting for internship gigs. 

Jan 20, 22 12:07 am  · 
3  · 
pegazeus

Like Non Sequitur said, there are no shortcuts. If you would like to get into architecture as a field and not as academic learning its history, then you would need to go through the same process.

It's either do the accredited masters or just stick to being an architectural historian.

Jan 22, 22 10:38 am  · 
1  · 
citizen

^ It is possible to do both, but you need both degree programs and related educations.

Jan 22, 22 2:47 pm  · 
 · 
pegazeus