Archinect
anchor

Architects of Archinect, I need help with what could be my first client project ever.

cristiansotomayor

Dear architects,

I am a 27 year old job captain at my firm. I have 5 years of experience in all aspects of the architectural design process. I have finished my AXP/IDP hours and I am soon going to begin the process of studying for my ARE exams. I believe I should have my license within 1 - 2 years.

I have been fortunate enough to create a relationship with a couple that would like to hire me for a large addition to a 1 family home in the state of California.

I know that here in the state of California there is no need to obtain a stamp from a licensed architect or engineer for this type of project. So legally I should be able to design the addition and apply for permits.

However, though I feel confident that I am capable of undertaking the full scope of designing this project I am not sure whether it would be the best approach. I would like to cover any risks that could come from the liability of a construction project.

Also, another thing I am wondering is whether I should register a business for this project. If I did register it, would it be something that I could eventually transform into my own design firm once I become a licensed architect?

So architects,

1. Should I undertake this project on my own and apply for permits with my own drawings, or should I act as a 'designer' and involve a licensed architect or engineer?

2. Would it be advisable to register a design business for this project? and could it be a business entity that would evolve into an architectural firm once I obtain my architecture license?

Thank you!

Oct 8, 21 12:48 pm
SneakyPete

I'd like to request serious answers to this question, it's the sort of thing that is valuable for folks in the profession to know. 

I am also interested, even though I have never been in this position and as such do not have any answers for you.