Archinect
anchor

Concept design phase workflow- architectural office

Archi880

I have been working for an architecture office for five years now. There is a thing that questions my mind. At this office when we are at concept design phase and development we change the plan layouts 10-15 times minimum. (My boss asks for it ...or the clients).

But Even when I do something which is functional and what the client wants, my boss will still change it ,not completely but with quite alot of changes. Is my work  and time not valued? Or do i have to guess what the boss dreamt of while he was sleeping? Also my colleagues feel the same. But for me maybe its more. I dont think I'm that bad as an architect neither a genius. Alot of times our projects get rejected from getting a building permit because my boss ignores some rules or hopes he can convince the town planning, when he is really ignoring rules. So again i have to redo all the work from scratch (and not being the one who did the mistake.) Also to keep in mind repetition is the no 1 negative at any job even if u dont work overtime... I would like to know how u guys work at ur offices. Let me know how you would handle this

Sep 10, 21 11:36 am
SneakyPete

This is frightfully common. The way I deal with it is reminding the boss the direct effects of the boss' choices. More overtime, more hours billed so less profit, violations of code, ignoring the client, etc.

I figure if it gets me fired I didn't want to work there anyhow. Usually I get thanked. It's a fucked up world.

Sep 10, 21 11:52 am  · 
4  · 
Archi880

If i knew this from ages ago i wouldnt follow architecture! Its depressive and makes u feel worthless. Especially if its coming from your boss. Imagine I hate this and I still don't do overtime

Sep 10, 21 12:01 pm  · 
 ·