Archinect
anchor

Urban designer going back for M.Arch?

berlage

Hi all - I'm a mid-30's urban designer considering an M.Arch. A bit about my background: I've been practicing as a planner/urban designer for the last 10 years, and advanced well in my field (senior staff at a well known firm). I mostly do district master plans, urban design frameworks, etc. I have good software/graphics skills and am good in rhino, grasshopper, autocad, adobe creative suite, sketching, etc. 

My motivation for considering an M.Arch is twofold. The first is technical: I did a dual degree with planning/urban design, so I have a good handle on general site design, urban design principles, etc. However, I often feel out of my depth once we get down to the building scale beyond basic massing and typologies. The second is practical: I often find that in my firm most of the real design in urban design is done by architects or landscape architects rather than dedicated UD staff, even if the work is still conceptual pre-design (eg: at a master planning stage). In that sense, I feel like I've hit a real glass ceiling: it seems unlikely that I'll be able to lead project teams in the future without a more traditional design degree under my belt. 

Going back to school would be a significant hit financially (even with a scholarship), so I'm thinking carefully about the tradeoffs. Ultimately, my primary goal is to do urban design with the design and technical knowledge of an architect. I'm less interested in a traditional architecture role taking projects all the way through CD's and CA.

So my questions: 
1) for someone in my situation (mid-30's, significant adjacent experience) what general advice would you give?