Archinect
anchor

Performing architectural services without license

przemula

I've been working as an architectural designer for about 3 years, I'm not licensed yet; I've been also moonlighting for past few years, doing mostly interior design or furniture drawings. 

I have been offered to do some drawings for a guy who got caught doing work without a permit. I'm planning to turn down the offer since I don't feel like it's a 'quick fix' - but what got me thinking is, am I allowed to do that sort of work while not having license or professional practice? I did 99% of my work in large city (Chicago to be precise), that client who asked for my help is located in suburb about 40-50 miles away from Chicago. I checked their BD website but it looks like other IL suburbs, where any sort of architectural work needs to be performed by licensed architect.

I was told by my older colleagues that in certain rural areas (?) of US they don't have such requirements, and you can submit plans drafted by anyone and they'll let you build whatever you want, as long as it's 'not something crazy'. Is that true?

May 12, 21 12:59 pm

It depends on the AHJ.  If permit drawings aren't required to have an architects stamp then you can do them. 

It isn't a good idea though.  

Any drawings you submit still need to meet the zoning and building codes for that area.  You're liable for everything shown on the drawings.  

May 12, 21 1:04 pm  · 
3  · 
rcz1001

Sometimes, you can get entangled in the legal mess when they deviate from the plans and do something stupid.

May 12, 21 2:54 pm  · 
 · 

Yup. If the design fails because the GC changed things you have to prove they did so without consulting with you. A real pain in the . . .

May 12, 21 3:37 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete