Archinect
anchor

unhappy project manager

mtdew

I've been a project manager in a mid-sized firm for the past 1 1/2 years. Being a PM, my day is filled with back to back meetings, constantly catching up on emails, writing proposals, charting staffing schedules, calculating fee & burn rate, and reviewing/redlining plans. I am getting the work done with my team and my boss is satisfied. But I am stressed out and do not enjoy this work. I found the work of being a project architect; designing, solving problems, drafting, and being deeply involved in my projects much more satisfying. 

I am not sure if I should look for another firm where I can be both a PM & PA or to tell my boss that I want to be a PA and not manage. Not sure how that will reflect in my current and future salary. I am sure there are others who had and overcome similar experiences. I would like to know if they eventually learned to get used to the work of a PM or were able to find an alternative way to continue their growth in the profession. 

Jan 17, 21 9:18 pm
liberty bell

I have a coworker who decided they didn’t enjoy project management and do doesn’t do it anymore. They are a very good designer and spends their day basically drawing. I’m insanely jealous! I hate PMing, which I’ve been doing on a large project for the last year. 

I’m fine PMing small projects, though, because I get to do a lot of drawing in relation to how much email/fee planning/hours projections etc I have to do.

Jan 17, 21 10:40 pm  · 
5  · 
mtdew

Thanks I can totally relate. I will need to read some PM self help books or at least watch some related youtube videos.

Jan 18, 21 12:54 pm  · 
1  · 
Rusty!

Peter principle is a concept where competent people keep getting promoted until they reach a position of incompetence.