Archinect
anchor

Internship while owning a business. Is it doable?!

adamk1992

Hello Archinectors!

I'm in this situation in my life where I need an advise from someone with more experience. I feel that since I'm 28 years old, soon to be 29, and don't have a lot wiggle room left to waste more years without having a mentor's advise to put me on the right path, I guess. I know a lot of you will say, you're still young, which is true but I'm not 21 year older anymore!

While I was still at architecture school, I got my first job as a drafter at a steel fabricator, I knew Autocad and was basically just trying to find any office job without having to work in a restaurant or a gas station...

I graduated then  started changing fabricators, just to chase a few more dollars per hour here and there. I was poor and money hungry and didn't really deeply think that my 20 something years are passing by without me gaining any architectural working knowledge. I didn't fall in love with steel detailing but I didn't hate neither.

In 2018, I founded DetailingFirm.com with a team of  drafters and I went on my own chasing more money. Fast forward to this day, I have my steel detailing business. I'm proud of it and planning to keep it and hopefully expend it. But my love is still for architecture. I see myself one day managing an architectural practice and my detailing business. 

I've tried to apply for many internship positions in the last year, I'm very open to an unpaid internship and I mention that in my applications as well. I think is doable to have a part time internship while spending 3-4 hours a day running the detailing business. I mostly do coordination and some checking so not too time consuming. My thoughts were that I can be at an architectural office all day even if the internship is just part time, where I can have 4 hours internship and 4 hours running the detailing business in between ( responding to emails, checking  some shop drawings...etc)