Archinect
anchor

Unexpected issue when considering MArch at US schools.

kristian96

I am an German architecture student currently pursuing my Bachelors degree in my home country.

I want to study abroad for my MArch and experience the pedagogy of an academic institution in the US. I am particularly drawn to Ivy league schools, like Harvard, Yale and Columbia. I also have a very high GPA and I am confident this will allow me admission to some good schools, however during my preliminary research an unexpected issue arose:

None of the schools I am interested in carries out their teaching in German.

This is a significant problem for me since I don't speak English as well and therefore I foresee that studying abroad in English could hinder my prospects of fully integrating within the academic studio culture of the said schools.

My plan was initially to study at TU Berlin, which offers a MSc in Space Design, however this program is unfortunately also offered in English, despite TU Berlin being a German school. Quite honestly, another downside to studying in this program is that despite my high GPA, I don't think I could make it as the competition is rather tough.

Does anyone know any good German speaking schools in the US? Any help would be much appreciated!

Sep 10, 20 4:07 pm
newbie.Phronesis

As far as I know, there isn't any in North America - you might be able to find groups of German students, but not instruction in Deutsch. 

Also, recommend not going to the US (expensive tuition) when you have quite inexpensive and good M.Archs in Germany... If you really want to study abroad, there's probably semester exchanges you can do. And if you have a great portfolio, it'll help you stand out with your GPA. Good luck!

Sep 10, 20 4:57 pm  · 
 · 
BabbleBeautiful

What you're looking for doesn't exist here. I know... it's not reciprocal considering a lot of European schools teach in english, sorry buddy.

But by your post your english seems more than adequate.