Archinect
anchor

Plan Examinations - Building Department

BulgarBlogger

Recently got into an interesting conversation with a friend and we can’t seem to agree:

I’m a licensed Architect in NYC with ten years of experience filing projects at the Building Department. My friend is under the impression that when drawing sets are reviewed and approved by plan examiners, that if a code issue isn’t picked up by the plan examiner, then the architect isn’t liable. 

I strongly disagree with that, but I am struggling to find an official document from the NYC building department or building/administrative code that states that architects are still responsible designing code-compliant buildings even if a code issue isn’t discovered during the plan examination.

Jun 30, 20 7:41 pm

Section 105.4, Validity of Permit: "The issuance or granting of a permit shall not be construed to be a permit for, or an approval of, any violation of any of the provisions of this code or of any other law. Permits presuming to give authority to violate or cancel the provisions of this code or other law shall not be valid. The issuance of a permit based on construction documents and other data shall not prevent the commissioner from requiring the correction of errors in the construction documents and other data. The commissioner is also authorized to prevent occupancy or use of a structure where in violation of this code or of any other law." (2014 NYC Building Code)

Jun 30, 20 8:00 pm  · 
2  · 
citizen

So, if the plan-checker misses a drawing sheet stuck to another sheet and fails to mark a code-related item, then your friend can leave doors off a stairwell?  Or design a 24" tall guardrail?  That's silly on its face.

Jun 30, 20 8:04 pm  · 
 · 
jeiffert

I tend to agree with you.  But I doubt that the NYC building department, or any building/administrative code would have any provision for assigning liability.  That gets worked out in courts.