Archinect
anchor

How to determine standard rates? Exceptions?

seekingguidance

Hi all, 

How do we determine our standard rates? When do we make an exception?

Some work has come my way from volunteering last month. Since this is private word of mouth connection, I'm now having to determine my rates. How do I go about creating my rates without undermining our profession?

To be more exact, I'm being asked to create a site plan roughly 200' x 200' with several elements such as fence, watch towers, and display boards. This site is to host historical content. 

Please advise. 

May 26, 20 12:54 pm

I am by no means an expert at determining rates for architectural services. However I will give you what knowledge I have.  

For architectural services for a building design we typically charge 7% of the construction costs.  This is then broken up into 20% SD, 20% DD,  40% CD, and 20 CA.  Obviously this percentage and fee breakdown depends on the project type, it's location, and the types of services the client has asked for.  

Without knowing more about your project and your situation (licensed , insurance, is this a side gig, your location, your experience ect) I would say you should charge an hourly fee.  To determine that rate you're going to have to wing it.  A good rule of thumb is to take what you want make an hours in take home wage and multiply it by 2.5 or 3.0 it to account for overhead costs.  This number would be your billable hourly rate.  

May 26, 20 1:35 pm  · 
2  · 
Gloominati