Archinect
anchor

USC vs UT Austin M Arch No Background

poodlepalace52

I was accepted to USC with $ and UT with a recruitment package. I studied psychology undergrad, so I do not have an architecture background. The costs of the programs themselves are pretty equal, but of course LA is a more expensive city than Austin. Because open houses are cancelled this year, I was wondering if anyone had any input on the differences between these two programs, if one is better in ranks, and any advice for choosing a school. I posted this on M Arch 2020 decisions, but I did not really get much feedback. Thanks, and I hope everyone is staying healthy during these crazy times!

Mar 19, 20 11:16 am
thisisnotmyname

UT Austin is ranked higher than USC.   There's also a lot to be said for Austin as a place to settle and build a career, it is one of few places in the USA where I see a big need for new construction.  Austin is a pretty insular place and a UT degree and a local address would be a major help getting a job in that town.

That said, I had way more fun in LA in three days than I did living in Austin for three months.  The art and culture scene in Austin is vastly smaller than LA and a lot of the stuff that people build in Austin shows a questionable level of taste and sophistication.

Mar 19, 20 6:26 pm
poodlepalace52

Thanks for your response. I was told when I visited that 50% of the master grads from UT Austin end up going to other cities like New York, Chicago, or LA. Do you have any insight on this?

thisisnotmyname

Yes, I know and have worked with UT grads and a lot of them work outside of Austin in places like California and NYC. I think the school has enough reputation and alumni network that people across the USA recognize that it's a good program.

Archlandia

Isn't UT like 25% of USC tuition?

poodlepalace52

@Archlandia Yes but I received a scholarship to USC

Leon_ordaz03
@poodlepalace52,