Archinect
anchor

How to tie drawing and specs together?

Hi,

I come from a custom residential background and am working on some commercial finish out projects. All of our Specs have been written in the drawings sheets via general notes, schedules, and call-outs. This has worked so far, but I want to improve the quality of our contract docs by creating a project book that contains the General Requirements, full (3-part) specs, partial specs, and even cutsheets. The thing is, I can't find a crash course on how large firms and CSI intned for the industry to implement proper specs... In other words, how do you tie all this stuff together? Does anyone know of a resource that can help? Thanks for any help!

P.S., I've been practicing since 2005, so I need something that gets straight to the point rather than a general overview.

May 13, 19 7:48 pm
curtkram

we keynote our drawings.  Instead of a note saying "gyp bd" it's a little oval that says "09.29"

May 13, 19 9:13 pm  · 
1  · 
senjohnblutarsky

As a guy who does a lot of renovation work, I absolutely hate getting a building that has some version of this. Inevitably, I only get drawings. There's no specbook and nothing that the oval references included in the set.

May 14, 19 8:40 am  · 
1  · 
thatsthat

We keynote drawings as well, but include the legend for the keynotes on each sheet where keynotes appear. It is so annoying to flip back and forth between the main legend sheet and the sheet I am looking at to figure out the notes; I just end up writing them in anyway. Additionally, using condoc numbers, we change the formatting so the condoc number appears along with the note. ex: "08000-01 - Provide door."

May 14, 19 9:36 am  · 
1  · 
Almosthip7

Keynotes are for lazy drafters.

May 14, 19 11:55 am  · 
 · 
∑ π ∓ √ ∞

Hip, explain, or you just being pfunny, hun?

Aug 23, 22 4:49 pm  · 
 · 

Here are some resources that can help:

• CSI’s Project Delivery Practice Guide
  • CSI’s Specifications Practice Guide