Archinect
anchor

Disillusionment: WTF am I doing here in Europe.

Pandekage

Having a bit of an existential crisis about my professional path and wanted to get your input on this. So I'm an American with an accredited M. Arch. degree from the states, and eligible (but haven't started) for licensure.

Two years ago I had a bit of wanderlust, and thought that getting an additional masters abroad might be nice and allow me to work in Europe, and thus recently I graduated with a M. Sc. of Architecture from a German uni and am working at an office here.

However, back then I had the (unrealistic) image of someday having a jetsetting position in architecture, flying between offices in the US and Europe. Having taken a closer look it seems that, save some specialized positions in marketing/management in international firms, it just isn't likely - standards are too different, work too regionalized. My family is all in the US, and I've realized I don't want to be too separate from them (despite the better vacation allotment in the EU).

So the question is, is there a path for me, as basically a junior architect, from the European side to climb towards a position allowing for travel between the US and Europe? And for someone who ultimately wants to return stateside and practice architecture, does it make any sense to continue working in Germany (besides personal/cultural reasons)? Or should I cut my losses and go home?

Apr 21, 19 5:42 am
Pandekage

edit: I have an accredited B. Arch. from the US and recently M. Sc. Architecture from Germany.

Apr 21, 19 5:43 am
archinet