Archinect
anchor

Six Sigma

ks239

Hi! Would really appreciate some thoughts. 

I'm a 29 y/o registered architect, working primarily in the healthcare market. I believe architects have a very real responsibility to seek out learning opportunities once we're out of school. With that mindset, I've tackled registration exams, WELL AP, and LEED GA. The way I see it, I can't afford not knowing about this stuff. This is much less about earning credentials than curiosity... although career advancement factors in, eventually.

I'm trying to figure out what comes next. Does anyone out there have experience with the topic of Lean Six Sigma? It's very hard to find much online as it pertains to our roles as designers or architects, but it's all about process improvement and lean strategy. Grasshopper/parametric design is another interest, but I'd need a really good class to walk me through it. I've dabbled with Grasshopper, Dynamo, and PowerBI, but need more structure than disparate YouTube videos.

What else is on your radar out there? If you had some flexible time and roughly $1k to cover expenses, what would you want to dive into?

Dec 3, 18 5:43 pm
wurdan freo

Start with the yellow book. 

Dec 3, 18 6:11 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

sounds like a scam. 

Dec 3, 18 6:19 pm  · 
 · 
archi_dude

With flexible time and 1k to cover expenses I’d dive into hobbies and experiencing life and the world around us. 

Dec 3, 18 7:06 pm  · 
 · 
archi_dude

*more

Dec 3, 18 7:06 pm  · 
 · 
Rusty!

If you are curious and want to be a better architect, I would highly recommend getting a CSI CDT certification. Architects who have this one tend to operate on another level.  

Dec 3, 18 7:10 pm  · 
 · 
Sean!

​Whenever I see CSI CDT behind someones name I assume it's someone who isn't' eligible​ to sit for the PE or RA exam.. Why would an RA also want this credential? I assume it was the same stuff that is covered in the CD exam, or whatever they are calling it these days...