Archinect
anchor

Production tips

chm@

What are your best tips to speed up production? I am an intern at a large firm with Revit, delivering packages.

Nov 30, 18 3:24 pm
SneakyPete

Leverage schedules. They're not just for putting on sheets.

Nov 30, 18 4:05 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Learn Dynamo and actually use it. 

Good project planning by your PA is the best way to speed up production. In lieu of that, try to communicate well with teammates and coordinate who is doing what. 

Nov 30, 18 4:50 pm  · 
 · 
chm@

Can you elaborate on the good project planning reference? I was recently involved in a small project where coordination was slow and poorly enforced. Drawings had to be amended several times. It felt like the consultants didn't care about producing good work and that looked bad on our end as it was such an arduous process to get the drawings right. I found the more people involved in the process the worst it gets.

Nov 30, 18 5:48 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

It is difficult and takes experience and time to do correctly. I think you said you were an intern. That means this stuff is absolutely not your job, you need to see a few good examples and do it a few times before you try to take it on
. Best thing you can do is find another firm to work at that does it better, or another team at your current firm with a competent project architect to lead it.

Nov 30, 18 6:10 pm  · 
 · 
chm@

Can you give some specific criteria for good project planning? Also, how can I speed up production on my end? My Revit skills are ok, I use shortcuts and apps. A lot of what I do atm involves replicating drawings from past projects. I have identified it takes longer than I expect to set up the required drawings and get them right. I get stuck with something, fixing a smaller thing leads to fixing other bigger problems, coordination with the team takes time. Sometimes even if I plan the workload, I struggle to finish on time.

Nov 30, 18 8:09 pm  · 
 · 
axonapoplectic