Archinect
anchor

Alternative to Revit?

DTechnic

Hey everyone. I am a graduate of Architcetural Technology, I've had over a year of work experience and very soon I'm going to reinstate my CIAT membership as an associate member.

I want to use a software for some basic service that I provide [I am good at technical drawings so I help people with their technical drawing needs].

Now Revit as far too expensive and there's no way I could keep up with even the monthly subscription of it. I've seen some alternatives like BricsCAD and was wondering if anyone has any other ideas of affordable software? I want to be able to draw/design in 2D and 3D and once I am fully accredited and qualified, I want to provide a full architcetural design service and start my own business.

One day I could go back into using an officially licensed Revit when I can afford it, but I want to try and master another software for commercial use.

Oct 13, 18 8:55 pm
( o Y o )

SketchUp

Oct 13, 18 9:20 pm  · 
 · 
natematt
From what I’ve heard microstation is fairly analogous, but cheaper and easier.
Oct 13, 18 9:29 pm  · 
 · 
Russell3000

The Microstation equivalent of Revit is AECOsim. I have a little bit of experience with it, I would NOT recommend it .

Jun 2, 20 7:13 pm  · 
 · 
Steeplechase

Why not just go work at a firm? One year is not a lot of experience, especially to be given so much responsibility that you are working alone and get to dictate the production tools.

Oct 13, 18 9:55 pm  · 
 · 
DTechnic

I am working at a firm, it's not architecture but we use Revit to design steel framing structures. While working, I expect it will take around 2 or 3 years more work experience to start thinking about progressing on to MCIAT.

I have Revit at home but it's a student version, and I want to do freelance technical drawings like floorplans for people, just as a side thing. I can't afford a Revit license so I want to know about something else I can use while building up a side business.