Archinect
anchor

Laptop or PC for architecture?

Kenann

Hey guys, 

I am an architecture student working in a rather tight budget (500-600 USD) to get the best bang for the buck in terms of the performance and portability of a device. First of all, I am not sure whether I should go for a laptop or a pc build machine, because I usually take my work with me when I leave home from uni , which is every  week or two.

I use programs such as AutoCAD, Revit, Photoshop, Rhino, Lumion, 3ds Max, ArchiCAD etc. so it would be used for 3D rendering and conceptual design, oh and for the occasional gaming session or two. 

Also, sometimes laptops are in use within classes for  "on the fly" demonstrations, in which I use my current laptop ( a shitty HP 250 G3 ), and I felt that a change was inevitable because the workload gets larger and larger.

My biggest dilemma is contained within the price to performance ratio - If I decide to get a pc, I lose the portability aspect, and if I get the laptop, there is no possibility for an upgrade, the performance is worse and I'll probably end up overpaying the entire thing. I was thinking of maybe upgrading my current laptop with additional sticks of RAM, and going with the pc build. 

Aug 13, 18 2:15 pm
tduds

If that's your budget, get the Desktop (Also, it's called a desktop, not a "PC")

Aug 13, 18 2:20 pm  · 
Non Sequitur

$500 can easily be the cost of your tower's GPU.... not sure sure how you'll manage all those softwares with a non existant budget.  Best to build a tower and spend the max you can now on the CPU and MB and add to it when you have the funds (GPU and RAM) 

Aug 13, 18 2:26 pm  · 
 · 
Archicore

My desktop setup must be nearing $1.5k total. I've used Lumion and according to the internal benchmark, I'm at the maximum recommended level for everything except for the CPU. If you're looking for that, you might have to raise your budget a bit.