Archinect
anchor

Quitting my architecture degree

valeriemen

Hi, I am an architecture engineering student from Belgium. I just finished my second year. But I really am considering to switch...

I began with so much energy and motivation, I was so excited. I really love art and culture and I admire buildings. I like the subjects very much but I since a while I started not to like the designing part itself. I just feel stressed all the time and I hate to fail. So I push myself to continue, but I still feel stressed.

It's like a love-hate relationship. I love the things you can accomplish with architecture, I really find it amazing. But I hate the energy it's demanding from me. I feel lost, most of the times I don't feel like I am myself anymore. It's so hard because I don't like failures and I always had the dream to become an architect.

My friends and family thinks it's just a phase. That I should continue. But they really don't understand what it is doing to me or how much effort it's demanding. 

I really don't know what to do. I don't look up to drawing and designing,    I just feel stressed by the idea of it? Is this a normal phase? Does a lot of architecture students have been through this?

Because nowadays I think its better to change career paths. I think if it makes me feel this way while I am studying it, it will not become better while I am actually practicing as an architect or in the architecture field.

I just really lost my energy and I am so done with it. I am just so afraid because I love the idea of creating and I am afraid I let a part of myself down. I just don't think that this study is healthy for me? I'd rather be happy and don't feel stressed/depressed. So I really think changing careers would be better for me...

Do you guys have any experience with that? What did you do? 

Jul 28, 18 11:57 am
randomised