Archinect
anchor

Help in construction for a lost architect!!!

MarkisA

Dear all,

I'm 29 years old and have been working as an architect for few years. I've been jumping from to another every few months as I reach a clashing point with my boss everytime as I'm a great designer but rubbish at construction details or even understanding construction frames or construction in general. I would appreciate if anyone could recommend the right path to learn so. Books, online sessions,...etc. 

Currently I can't afford to enroll in construction classes nor are they offered separately where I'm living so this won't be a viable option for me.

Thank you for reading my post and sorry for any inconvenience. 

Apr 11, 18 11:35 am
joseffischer

ummm... stop clashing with your superiors who know about construction and listen to them?

Apr 11, 18 11:40 am  · 
 · 
“””1991”

you must not be so “great” if you don’t understand construction. 

I’m assuming you’re working somewhere where as soon as you graduate you’re an “architect”. 

If you keep jumping ship every couple of months maybe your the problem not everyone else. 

Apr 11, 18 11:40 am  · 
 · 
randomised

I recommend swallowing your pride and try staying at a job, any job really, even at a hack you learn more taking a shitty project through construction than at a few months starchitecting, if they want to keep you on that is, to learn the things you can never learn in a few months diagramming, pushing the render button or foaming models...

Apr 11, 18 12:08 pm  · 
 · 

"A great designer"

A legend in your own mind. Get over yourself.

Apr 11, 18 12:16 pm  · 
 · 
MarkisA

Wow, thank you for the sarcasm.

Apr 11, 18 12:24 pm  · 
 · 

Not sarcastic, just honest.

Question: How can you be a "great designer" if you don't know the first thing about what you're designing?

Answer: You can't.

Apr 11, 18 12:39 pm  · 
 · 
s=r*(theta)

I beg to differ miles

Apr 11, 18 3:55 pm  · 
 · 
MarkisA

Thank you all so much for your comments.