Archinect
anchor

Shitty Men in Architecture spreadsheet

I sincerely doubt that I, an old woman in this field, would see any surprises on this rumored spreadsheet, but I still kinda want to see it.

https://www.fastcodesign.com/9...

Mar 15, 18 12:56 pm

3 Featured Comments

All 107 Comments

And whatever you think about anonymous rumors and false accusations,  this, from the article, is 100% true:

Another thing is that there’s such a problem with architectural labor, with performative and enforced scarcity. When I graduated from architecture school more than a decade ago, it was understood that we were all going to suffer for the next 15 to 20 years, we’d never sleep, we’d be underpaid, we’d work until midnight. We’re trained from the very first studio class to believe that we are going to suffer in service of a higher calling. Our professors modeled this for us, and architecture firms reinforced it.

There’s this idea that architecture is a magical, important contribution to the world that is undervalued. We’re trained to view suffering as deeply related to the work. So something like harassment is easy to dismiss as part of the sacrifice. And even when it’s absolutely wrenching and not easy to dismiss, the culture of genius in architecture remains. Many firms are structured around a “Great Man” with a singular vision, which lowly employees are tasked with carrying out. It’s very top-down. 

I do believe this abusive tradition in our discipline is changing, slowly, both among bold new change agents like The Architecture Lobby and old-guard groups like AIA.

Mar 15, 18 12:59 pm  · 
1  · 
geezertect

^ How so?

Mar 15, 18 5:36 pm  · 
 · 

geezer, there is a lot happening and I'm pressed for time but here is one thing: The AIA voted last year to require architects seeking awards, the Gold Medal and building design awards, I believe, the certify that they have not employed people for no pay in their firm.

Mar 15, 18 7:37 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete