Archinect
anchor

Which all Japanese architecture firms take foreign Interns?

Hey guys,

I was thinking of interning in Tokyo. I am a registered architect from India and have a year of experience. 

When I searched for the firms I got a lot of names but i am confused which ones will take in a foreign candidate as an intern. Please help with where can I apply for, being not from Japan and no experience in Japanese language? I can start from first week of January '18.

Thanks and Regards,

Anshul

(P.S. - If anyone who have worked in Japan and in other countries, Please share your experience of working there. How do you compare both the places of work individually?)

Nov 23, 17 2:17 am
randomised

Don't know your opinion on slavery but interns don't get paid there, remember that...

Plenty of info here on archinect about slaving/interning in Japan, just use the search function ;)

Nov 23, 17 4:39 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
Only one year experience and already a registered arch? Fancy.
Nov 23, 17 6:56 am  · 
 · 
randomised

I registered the day of my graduation.

Nov 23, 17 7:39 am  · 
 · 
hellion

it's easy in some countries. In Peru, after you finish your BArch or BSArch, you present a thesis to the Board and if you pass you get your license. In the Philippines, you just log a minimum number of hours as required by the Board (from your internships during your studies to after graduating), apply to take the board exam and if you pass you're licensed. I got my license a year after I graduated.

Nov 23, 17 10:10 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Damn, lower standards I guess. That explains why we ask for in-person interviews and a minimum of 10 years post-licensing experience before accepting foreign-trained architects.

Nov 23, 17 10:54 am  · 
 · 
hellion