Archinect
anchor

Project Architect vs Construction Project Manager job

lerinat

Dear reader,

I feel the need for an advice on deciding on a job opportunity. I am an architecture graduate with a 5 year experience in architectural projects, working on design, implementation of different types of buildings and also some urban projects for small to medium size studios. Lately an opportunity has been offered to me by a big company to work as a construction project manager on a small infrastructure project. Salary is double of what i currently get, but the downside is my job will be mainly construction managerial and not design related which sets some doubts into my mind on whether or not i should accept it. Should i go for it and get experience on a new construction and managerial level or should i continue working as a project architect. If someone has ever been here to make a choice i would appreciate some perspective. 

Aug 18, 17 9:53 am
auninja91

is it a contract for the small infrastructure project or permanent possition? Double salaray seems like it would be a push to take the job..Can't you always try it out for a year and if you don't like it go back to being a project architect?

Aug 18, 17 10:09 am  · 
 · 
Rusty!

You went to design school to learn design. And you did. Of course a construction company will prefer someone who understands design over someone who got a college degree in construction management.

Take the higher paying gig as long as your ego can handle it. Ego and design are indistinguishable in this profession.

Aug 18, 17 11:29 am  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

Take the construction management job without hesitation. Take the financial portion out of the equation. Construction managers are concerned with managing schedule, cost and quality. An essential balancing act that is required if you want to make the jump from Project Architect to Project Principal in the architecture world.