Archinect
anchor

Looking for employment in NYC

A.I.T.
Hello, my name is Isabel, I'm from Puerto Rico and I came to NYC for some interviews I got called for, but I'm still looking for more firms to apply because I haven't heard from any yet. I'm applying for Junior Architect position. Do anyone know of a recruitment company in NYC for architecture that could help? Thank you!

Jul 14, 17 4:40 pm
randomised
Yes I've tried those and indeed, glassdoor, lensa, resume-library, zip recruiter, but I will keep at it, thank you!
Jul 15, 17 5:50 pm  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

Can I tell you something? I really don't mean to sound rude, but I have a lot of experience in NYC:

1) In my opinion, other than California, NYC is one of the most complicated places to practice in in the USA. There are 4 different building codes that can be applicable to any project, not to mention the zoning resolutions and permitting procedures. 

2) Taking the above into account, coming from Puerto Rico and studying in Brazil puts two things into question: your ability to speak English well enough, and secondly your understanding (or lack thereof) of units of measurement and the language. 

3) While code, permitting, etc can be delegated to other members of the team either with more experience, potential employers can assume that you will cost more money than local candidates. 

4) Even if potential employers had to train you in understanding the Imperial unit system and you had no responsibility in doing anything related to code, you will mainly have only three options: 

a) Pick up redlines

b) Build Models

3) Create Renderings

This is an impossible situation to be in because:

a.1 Interns can be hired for much cheaper than full-time junior architects.

a.2 Interns can be hired to build models.

a.3 Renderings are usually outsourced abroad.

4) To be a designer in NYC, you have to understand the code, Americans with Disabilities Act, among other NYC-specific things. 

SO: