Archinect
anchor

Long Gap Between Bachelor and Master degrees

good details

Hey all, I'm applying to M. Arch programs for Fall 2018.  I have a pretty large gap in my formal education and I'm wondering how to go about the application process.  I graduated with a Bachelor of Environmental Design in 2012.  Afterwards, I did small-scale design/build work for 2 years and then spent the next 2 years living/working abroad at a non-architecture related job.  My time from now until Fall 2017 will be spent traveling.  I'm feeling extremely excited and prepared to go back to school, but am wondering how this gap will look and what exactly it entails for my application.

I've roughed out my portfolio and as it sits it will have:

• 2 or 3 school projects (one of which I totally revamped a couple of years after graduating)
  • 4 projects from my design / build job (a table, a standalone interior structure, and two interior renovations including custom designed and built fixtures). I plan to include construction process photos and sketches of these as well as final photos.  We (I was part of a 2-person team) did no computer work for these projects.
  • 2 competitions I've done in the last two years on my own while living abroad
  • Mayyyybe a bit of photography (I got into my bachelor program on a portfolio that was 100% photography so I feel its pretty strong).

I'm worried I'm not including enough school projects, but it was so long ago and I'm not too proud of many of them.  My more recent competition projects are much better.  I also want to show I know how to swing a hammer since the design / build projects were all designed and built by me and my coworker.  Does this seem like a good percentage of projects from each category?