Archinect
anchor

Architecture in extreme environments

0L0ID

Hi everyone,

I want to point my architecture career into an unusual direction - habitats for extreme environments. Arctic to be exact. But I'm not sure where to begin. I have about 10 years on and off experience of working in the field. Mostly doing design for Architecture firms and a lot of visualization - an unfortunate side effect of being really good at 3ds Max. I have a B.Arch from Cal Poly Pomona and an M.Arch II from UCLA's SUPRASTUDIO with Greg Lynn. During my time at UCLA we ventured pretty liberally into design with composites, fiberglass fabrication, and robotic arms for making stuff. Which sparked my interest in building where typical materials and conventional means of construction aren't enough. 

The thing is, at the moment I'm working at a fairly conservative architecture firm [ doing renderings as prescribed above^^ :/ ], which designs conventional glass-clad high-rise housing using conventional construction methods, conventional project deliveries, and pays conventional salaries.. haha ...And I'm just not sure where to turn to, because my graduate program left a strong impression in me that there is a certain future in automatic fabrication, and long-lasting composite materials and I just want to explore this topic further. And it doesn't seem like there is any room for it in the type of work environment where I am now. 

Should I try to splinter off the architecture path and join a smaller office that fabricates interior furnishings, and familiarize myself with unorthodox materials and methods?

Should I perhaps consider temporarily going to a naval design office to get an exposure to monocoque hull construction?

Not sure. What do you guys think?

Huge thanks!

0l0id

Oct 17, 16 4:12 pm
JLC-1

go to antarctica, plenty of buildings to learn from.

Oct 17, 16 4:53 pm  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion