Archinect
anchor

What advice can you give about my thesis? I’m studying architecture and my thesis is about Public Market.

ickanela

When I did my research I focus on public market and supermarket & how I could redevelop the image of public market so that they can serve better and can successfully compete with supermarkets. But one of the prof in my uni told me its not architectural problem but an economic problem. Any thought?

May 15, 16 11:53 am

http://frenchmarketchicago.com/

Find examples that back up your theory, this is more of a programming exercise but still is very much an architectural project. Get precedent studies to back up what you want to explore.  The layout of grocery stores into departments is mimicking to some extent traditional city markets,.

It sounds like you want to work out a design that can fulfill the function of a supermarket while offering the variety and customer experience of a farmers market, this is not very common but there are examples to look at.

happy hunting

Peter N

May 16, 16 10:05 am  · 
 · 

Since when can architecture not address issues of economics? I almost repeated what Peter said about layouts, so + to that. I'd also suggest not limiting yourself to the range of the property. Public/farmers markets have a different set of logistics and rules. As an example, my farmers market has a range of 100 miles, and includes wine (and alcohol?) so long as it produced within that range. Context also matters because adjacencies have the potential to set up other opportunities to program and articulate space. Find a local precedent as examine it.

good luck and be sure to sample goods as part of the research.

May 16, 16 10:22 am  · 
 · 
Sam Apoc

http://www.barcelonaturisme.com/wv3/en/page/508/santa-caterina-market.html