Archinect
anchor

Holiday present for boss

mtdew

Holiday etiquette question. Does anyone give presents to your boss?

I've been working at a firm for 3 years and have received two week's pay for bonuses so far. 

My wife thinks I should get them a present for around $50. But I don't want the boss to feel uncomfortable or other employees to think I'm brown nosing. 

Dec 18, 15 4:48 pm
null pointer

dick in a box.

Dec 18, 15 4:54 pm  · 
 · 
gwharton

Dec 18, 15 4:56 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

or, better yet

Dec 18, 15 5:10 pm  · 
 · 
kjdt

A $50 boss gift would be uncomfortable and viewed as brown nosing by most bosses.  It's not necessary to give the boss a gift.  If you really feel compelled then go with something small, like a book about a subject you know he's been getting interested in, or a food gift.

Dec 18, 15 7:34 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

Depends on how well he pays you. Fuck the other employees

Dec 18, 15 7:36 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical

Another approach might be to get all the employees together and jointly purchase your boss something nice ... that way it's perceived as group gratitude and it avoids the individual 'brown nose' tag. Architecture books are always a good choice.

Dec 18, 15 8:55 pm  · 
 · 
Everyone at the firm chips in for a partners gift every year. If you are going to do one, that's the way to go since it isn't brown nosing if everyone is in on it.

To do one from just yourself is kind of weird and gives the connotation that you are trying to butter them up for a promotion or raise.
Dec 18, 15 9:03 pm  · 
 · 

If there is any obligation at all it's the other way around. 

Dec 18, 15 9:13 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

I've had to put in for a gift at 1 of my 5 firms, my nurse wife has always given gifts at all her work places, I think it's a chick thing

Def not a good idea to be the only one giving a gift
Dec 18, 15 9:39 pm  · 
 · 
Carrera