Archinect
anchor

What major can an interior designer study for a graduate degree?

hys1989

Hello,

I have a degree (bachelor of science in interior design) + 2 years of experience in the field, and for now, I have been planning to complete my studies and begin applying for my master's degree. I have had a goal of studying M.Arch for my master's degree, but unfortunately most schools would require me to study for a period of 3 or 4 years to get that degree (which is too much). I'm looking for a degree that would benefit me and take a maximum two years of study to get done with. 

I'm seriously not planning to continue my studies in interior design. I have been thinking about majors such as engineering management or project management. If you have any other suggestions, want to share your own opinion or experience please do so. 

Thanks!

Jul 19, 15 2:31 am
kjdt

You've explained what you don't want: you don't want to continue studies in interior design.  You don't want a masters degree that takes longer than 2 years.

But what is it you do want to get out of your masters degree?  You said you want a degree that will benefit you - that would pretty much describe most grad students' motivations - but it doesn't narrow it down much.  What are you interested in?  What kind of career are you thinking about pursuing?

Other possibilities: design marketing; graphic design; urban planning; lighting design; fine arts....

Jul 19, 15 8:18 pm  · 
 · 
Volunteer