Archinect
anchor

how to use studFinder to find Hot wire?

jlxarchitect

My latest project is trying to building a shelf in kitchen area. When I used StudFinder from Zircon to detect the hot wire, I found there is alot of HotWire Warning lighting coming on. I have little knowledge to the eletricity. But I don't believe there is so much wires behind the wall. I checked the Zircon, but I found the customer support is not that good.

I wonder what is your suggestion or experience on using StudFinder to find the hot wires?

Thanks.

Jan 15, 05 4:07 pm
abracadabra

good luck, i'd be just happy to find the stud(s) for the shelving.who knows what else zircon picking up.don't use too long screws just in case. if you find a stud, your chances of hitting a hot wire is very rare.
unless your kitchen is next to a outlet jungle.

Jan 15, 05 4:19 pm  · 
 · 
Suture

wear rubber gloves...ZAAAP!!!!

Jan 15, 05 4:24 pm  · 
 · 
jlxarchitect

When the wire pass through a stud, do the studFinder detect the wire outside the stud or inside the stud?

fOR the residential, I assume my house used wood stud. I wonder what is the normal stud size, 1"for stud width? For chicago area, do the contractors use 16" O.C. or "24" O.C spacing?

Jan 15, 05 4:31 pm  · 
 · 
LFLH

Studs are usually 1 1/2" wide.
They will typically be at 16" oc - but there will of course be deviations in the pattern (extra studs or different spacing) if there are windows, doorways, and sometimes if there's been previous remodeling involving that wall.
If your kitchen was originally designed as a kitchen, and if you're putting the shelf at a "typical" height, you may find that there are one or two rows of continuous blocking in your wall - because a lot of residential contractors do this as a matter of course in wall in which it's foreseeable that someone will want to put cabinets at some point.