Archinect
anchor

Do you draw, sketch etc at your desk?

Ms Beary

Does your office more resemble an accountant's quarters?
Do you have a place to draw or sketch? If so, is it awkward? Or removed from your usual workspace - for instance in a another room?
Is it too much to expect for an architect's workstation to resemble the way an architect should work?

Jan 10, 05 1:18 pm
sahar

I am just an intern, but there is a serious problem in my office with model making. No one does it, and you can't do it at your desk. I am surpised on the amount of sketches and hand renderings that happen in the office though. There are some people who are very very good at it, and I wish I they could teach me or I could steal their skills.

I long for my desk space from school, which was a long flat desk (8'-0") which you could put and computer on and make models on, and a small drafting table (4'-0") which you can render and draw on or flatten (if you don't do that) and have another work surface. I have the same amount of space, but it is far less efficient.

Jan 10, 05 1:25 pm  · 
 · 
A

Wasn't there an image gallery at one time for people to post photos of their workstations? I think it would be fun to have a gallery for people to post photos of their offices. Nothing too personal or revealing, but enough for us to see what different offices are like.

Myself, I work in a pseudo cube. L shaped counter around 2 sides with computer in center. Meager layout space on each side. Opposite side is a 4'-0" adjustable drafting table. Mostly used for layout but sometimes the mayline gets a spin.

Jan 10, 05 1:34 pm  · 
 · 
e

i work at home. i have space to sketch at my desk, in my studio away from my desk, and other places in my house that i frequent. my favorite place is in my garden in my backyard. weather permitting of course

Jan 10, 05 1:35 pm  · 
 · 
David Cuthbert

no I sketch in my sketch book!