Archinect
anchor

Sick and tired of being the typical intern. When do I become a job captain

ARC Student

I have two years of professional experience. Since I started working here at my company I have been assigned to help on different projects to do the same tasks like picking up redlines, sealing and binding drawings, setting up  drawing sheets and template in revit and doing basic details  such as wall partition types, door schedule etc. They were also nice enough to brought me to the construction site and I worked there for 5 months doing modification drawings/ documents.

The other interns in my office who has the same experience as me are working on one project with a licensed architect. I feel jealous because they are involve in meetings and they get to talk to consultants about projects matters. They are getting the project management training. I feel like if I keep on doing this process, I will never have that chance to manage a project because they will get the offer first.

I talked to one of the principal about my concerns and I made sure that I do care about my work and I would like to get the chance of managing a project. He told me that there are plenty of opportunities and he knows that I care. He also stated to I do not need to worry about it and that I am being paranoid.

How long did you guys worked as a regular intern before getting the chance of becoming a job captain?

Jul 24, 14 11:27 am
Non Sequitur

2 years xp and you want control of a project? It would take one helluva intern before I would dish out that much responsibility at that level. I was just under 3 years xp before I started getting snippets of management experience but then again, I was licensed shortly thereafter.