Archinect
anchor

Fired after Design Phase, who owns the drawings?

Rattler

I have been practicing for 24 years and am glad this has only happened once.

I was contracted to design an alteration/addition to a home in the northeast.  My contract was in 4 tasks.  Existing conditions, Design. Historic Approvals, Construction Documents and Construction Administration.

I thought everything was going great it took a little longer than usual to get to the end of the design phase.  4 meetings total....but the client seemed interested in drilling down and exploring options.  I did not mind, I always try hard to make it a pleasurable experience for my clients.  They had a lot of input into the design and I believe they are happy with it.  It also went through historic approval without fanfare.

At this point the client requested the drawings be sent out to contractors for pricing.

Then I get a call.....they do have confidence in my abilities moving forward.  They are happy with the design but its " more than block and tackle moving forward".  Im a little confused as my contract did not include interior design services.  The Owner was to select all fixtures, material finishes etc.  I am ready to move to the construction documents task.

They want all my materials including area calculations, existing conditions measurements and all drawings in auto cad format.......the way the owner said it you could tell he had a list from someone else.

They said they were going to pay the design fee in full.   I am leary of giving out my drawings for a contractor to paste them up and use them as part of a permit set or same is true for another designer..... this seems like trouble to me.  I am really shocked because the permitting in this town can be very tricky and I have completed many successful projects there.