Archinect
anchor

ARB Part 1 examination

puterimeredith

Hi there,

I completed my Part 1 and applied my Part 2 in UK and received an unconditional offer from Glasgow School of Art (GSA). I really consider my placement in the university since it is my dream school however the school require me to take ARB Part 1 examination anytime before I graduate since i graduated with only RIBA Part 1. If I fail the exam, I could not graduate with my Part 2. As far as I know, that exam cost a fortune and only take place in London. What do you think? Is it a risk that worth taking? Do any of you have experience of taking the exam? Is it tough to pass? I also received an offer form other school such as Oxford Brookes and Manchester which did not require me to have ARB Part 1. Thanks

May 14, 14 11:15 am
ecclipse28

Hi did you take it today? I took mine today as well. My condition is a bit different from yours. I did my part ii in Bartlett two and a half years ago without having my part I done. That was why I am going through this at the moment. I would advise you to get it done before that, because it would actually save you a lot of trouble later on. Plus, architecture education is already expensive enough, so make sure you are happy with the school and education you choose eventually. Alternatively, there are some school not require your part I before enrolment, but If you want to apply for them maybe you have to do it for next year. 

May 14, 14 5:12 pm  · 
 · 
puterimeredith

Hi @ecclipse28,

No, didn't take the exam yet but will do after my final year in GSA. I didn't enroll in the school yet but a bit worried if i fail the ARB exam later and end up without my Part 2. In your case, will Bartlett grant you your Part 2 if you fail your Part 1? How was the exam? Is it very tough? Thanks

May 14, 14 9:35 pm  · 
 · 
ecclipse28

Hi Puteri Meredith,