Archinect
anchor

Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts School of Architecture

Melisa

Hello, 

Im an architect interested in the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts School of Architecture MA: Urbanism and Societal Change. I don't know anybody who has taken this masters. I would like to here some opinions and experience.

How is it like? Is it worth it for real life application/professional practice? is it very much inclined on urbanism and not in architecture? Is the research and practice both simultaneously on the go - equally balanced, or is it more like a theoretical masters? 

Apr 27, 14 4:11 pm
Roshi

I posted about this some time ago, and a nice user named Stephanie answered all those questions pretty well. Here is the link:

http://archinect.com/forum/thread/82218131/royal-danish-academy-of-fine-arts-feasable

Apr 27, 14 11:53 pm  · 
 · 
Melisa

Thanks for you answer Roshi. Ill check it out right now!

If someone else can answer too i would really appreciate more comments!!! Thanks in advance! 

:)

Apr 28, 14 7:59 pm  · 
 · 
q5gasrc2

I was also considering the "MA: Urbanism and Societal Change".

About the Royal Danish Academy of  Fine Arts:
what can be distilled from the student work and the website is a bias towards 'art-itecture' and highly design-oriented educational agenda. What I have heard about the school confirms this preconception as well as the mentality and atmosphere which comes with it. While being in an art-school might be the right spot for some, I am not sure how well such environment feeds the more analytical research studio.

At the same time, some other sources indicate that actually the academy is quite respected in terms of research which comes out of it.

About MA: Urbanism and Societal Change: