Archinect
anchor

a painting major transitioning to architecture major?

greenmachine

Hey all! i've always been interested in the concepts that architecture brings..not only the technical aspects, but the whole process of investigation and formulating solutions in a almost all dimensions (2d, 3d). but anyway, I'm currently a foundation student at Pratt Institute and my major is painting but I'm thinking about switching to architecture which is obviously a huge huge shift for me to make. I'm considering changing schools WITHIN pratt which means I'll move from the art and design school to the architecture school.. but i'm also looking into applying to the Architectural Association in London. Can anyone give me any insight into the application process and what this school looks for in a portfolio? I dont have any real experience with architecture..and my portfolio does consist of some drawings, paintings, and sculptural pieces.. I just have no idea where to go from here.. any help and insight would be tremendously helpful right now!

Apr 23, 14 4:26 pm
sameolddoctor

Good luck in going from a Rock to a Hard Place

Apr 23, 14 8:21 pm  · 
 · 
snooker-doodle-dandy

I always said I would go back to my love of painting once I became and Architect. Still cranking out the working drawings....and close to retiring...Maybe just maybe then.

Apr 23, 14 9:00 pm  · 
 · 
adrift

Your story sounds very similar to my own, only I chose architecture over painting and never considered applying to the AA.  Architecture is tough, but its a flat out amazing education, and I don’t regret a moment of it. Enjoy the ride!

As for portfolio advice I can only speak in general terms.