Archinect
anchor

AutoCAD LT or Revit LT for draftsman/unlicensed designer

allenmd07

I am not a licensed architect, I graduated from undergrad in 2012 and will be pursuing a masters degree beginning this fall. Between undergrad and now, I had been working for a structural engineer, producing construction documents and conducting structural analysis on residential and small commercial projects. 

I spent the Easter weekend with my family and my uncle mentioned to me for about the third time he wants me to design a pool house for him. We haven't talked in great detail about the project, budget, timeline etc but he said he was serious.

My plan was to draw the building, producing the structural details and getting my boss (licensed engineer) to stamp the set. By the time this project gets rolling, if it is realized, I will be back in school so I will not have access to commercially licensed copies of AutoCAD or Revit.

My question is would you consider it a viable option to purchase AutoCAD LT or even Revit LT as a freelance draftsman/unlicensed designer? I realize they are about 1.1-1.3k a piece but I consider owning one of these programs an investment. During grad school I will be staying with another uncle who is a contractor, so owning dresign software could open opportunities for small part-time projects and potentially generate some cash flow.

To note, a coworker has a new copy of AutoCAD 2006 LT he said he would sell for $400 +/-, would you consider buying this?

Any advice appreciated.

Apr 23, 14 9:36 am

Allen,

First you have to understand what is main different between CAD and BIM (revit in this case).

This is essential. And then you'll be able to make a decision which one to stick with. Those to almost share nothing in common.

The job you are trying to get done could be handled with AutoCAD or AutoCAD LT. I dont think a pool project need some BIM intervention (IMHO).