Archinect
anchor

Dilemma for an international student. HELP

WilsonWu

It's been a long time  for me the consider if I should keep pursuing architecture as a profession or not. And I really want to hear experiences from you guys.

First, I am a freshmen student studying architecture in a B.S degree, and I really enjoy it and love it.

The thing is, every time I saw comments in the forum like "unpaid jobs" "useless degree", I would just ignore it. But when nearly 80% of the comments about architect as a profession are negative(some extremely negative), I started to reconsider my decision. Some might say that if you hesitate, then you should not study it. But come on let's face the truth, if you really love a profession, but hear tons of negative opinions that you will never get enough compensation for what you paid, you are pissed off, are you? 

Plus I am an international student and really want to learn knowledge and maybe stay in this country in the future(let us be HONEST).

I changed a lot after hunting information about this profession. 

A short question :"something you love? Or something with high income"

You may say that I am “utilitarian”, but I hope you can understand me.

You are studying, I am gambling,

You may study for a degree, i am studying for my future.

Thank you so much !

Apr 18, 14 12:44 am
accesskb

Hey.. let's face it.. Many of us entered Architecture with little clue what it was really about.  We all thought we could become starchitects someday, build and own skyscrapers, condos, properties but that is not the truth xD  Luckily, you have the internet to educate yourself on this profession and other professions.  Some of us didn't even have the internet a decade or so ago.

With that, there are a lot of people working in this industry.  You're probably only seeing a small fraction of them in this forum and complaining about this profession.  A large chunk of them are too busy working :)

Apr 18, 14 2:15 am  · 
 · 
grneggandsam