Archinect
anchor

Losing hope in Architecture. Unorganized hiring process and designers not valued.

struggling architect

I graduated with a masters in urban design May 2013 and have been looking for jobs way before from Jan 2013. Nothing for me has worked out so far. It's been a harrowing experience.  I'm an international student on my F1 Optional Practical training visa which is ending soon this coming May. After a series of really bad experiences with the unorganized way architecture firms big and small, well known and not so well known are handling the hiring process I have really given up on this industry. I have really struggled to come here to where I am today. I have 5 years of experience as a project architect/ senior architect before I got into pursuing my masters degree in Urban Design and graduated with honors being awarded the design excellence awards in my final two semesters. And yet I have not been able to get any job after 1 year of struggle. Talking about a series a bad events, would like to highlight one such event. I was hired by a well known company in NYC. They were ready to do my paperwork to get me my H1 B in order to work in this country. Everything was going fine. They offered me a pay package that I honestly compromised considering the fact it would be a god start for me and would get to learn the processes of this country. Although I was not getting to work on any urban design projects, I was really happy to start with this firm. I was ready to start and was looking forward to a new beginning. I really was hoping that I could work myself up sooner than later and they would eventually see my potential. I was ready to work very very hard. The other reason I compromised on several levels was because I did not want to go back to my country leaving my husband behind who has a good job with a very good company. But after a year of struggle trying to get into an Urban Design + Architecture firm I was left with no options. On my first day of my