Archinect
anchor

Documentation of architectural stamp regulations

snick17

I'm an architect in CA with a client who insists that I need to sign and stamp her Schematic drawings. This is the end of the work with her, we are not continuing on to the CD phase, and I'm looking for official language somewhere that explains to her the stamp and signature are only for permit drawings. I've checked the Architectural Practice Act, and it doesn't mention anything. If you have info that could help, I'd appreciate it.

Apr 8, 14 8:33 pm
accesskb

just make up a date stamp and be done with it xD

Apr 8, 14 8:42 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

what a tard, she probably wants to move on without your services and try to get a permit and build the project.  classic.

Apr 8, 14 8:57 pm  · 
 · 

You're the architect, i.e. the professional.  She's not.  Just tell her you won't do it because it's not standard practice and your liability is all based on you following standard practice.  I have frequently shut down people who weren't owed drawings but wanted them - like subs - by telling them my professional liability doesn't allow it.

Does your contract with her say you will stamp anything?

Apr 9, 14 8:38 am  · 
 · 
poop876

Why do you have to explain it to her? If you stamp a construction set, you are releasing it for construction and you are assuming all the responsibility. You make the call! This being the schematic set, it is nowhere near ready for construction and life safety of others is on your shoulders.

An architect does not only stamp permit drawings, we stamp statements, addenda and many other things a professional needs to approve. You are vouching the accuracy of something that you had direct supervision of.

Apr 9, 14 8:52 am  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion