Archinect
anchor

Renovation of Family Member's House

grneggandsam

My uncle wants to expand his kitchen and basement and has been coming to me for help.  I have 2 years of experience in the field (1 year in  a small design/build firm).  The work consists of adding a new footer/piers, two floors of ~200 SF each, and a roof, along with mechanical electrical and plumbing.  We have gotten various quotes from GCs in the areas (ranging from 70k - 140k).  I have been reluctant to mention it to my boss because I'm afraid of the dynamic it would create and how much our fee would be.  As a result, I've even thought about becoming licensed as a GC and trying to oversee the project myself.  I think I could do the job for 50k-70k if I did.

I was wondering, has anyone ever encountered this sort of situation before?  What advice do you have?  I know the permit would require stamps from an engineer and a licensed GC, Plumber, mechanical, and electrical to do the job along with drawings. 

Apr 6, 14 1:25 pm
wurdan freo

the problem with working with family and friends  is, if the project goes bad, you have to be prepared that the relationship may  be terminated or forever strained. Getting sued by your Uncle makes for an interesting Thanksgiving dynamic.