Archinect
anchor

(Undergraduate) London AA vs. USC. vs. Syracuse. vs. SciArc vs. UT Austin

Alnbai

So, what you guys think ? Right now I am choosing among the listed architecture schools. 

Despite locations and fees, which would be the one y'all recommond ?

Advice will be greatly appreciated. 

Allen

Apr 2, 14 6:15 pm
RhinoTRAP

I got a B.Arch at Syracuse. It's pretty great and you won't lack any resources or contact with great faculty, despite what some may try to tell you about the location. Currently, though, it's a program in flux. I graduated before this new dean came in, and I have no info as to what direction he is taking the school. If you are able to visit, do so.

While these days part of SU's B.Arch program may be tending toward the outer reaches, it's still a program that's known for producing actual practitioners. If you seek out some of the faculty who have been around for a while, I think you could have an endlessly enriching experience. USC and UT also fall into that category. I don't know a lot about USC, but they have a reputation as a balanced school with sufficient resources to get you on your way to wherever you want to be. I have a lot of respect for UTSOA, and may end up there this fall for the MLA program. Like SU and USC, UT is a program that does not shy away from broader and more progressive issues, but at the same time produces very capable and well-rounded grads.

From what I know, SciARC occupies a different niche. More academia and boutique firm oriented. But I will let someone who's intimately familiar with the program tell you about it. I don't know anything about the current state of the AA, but I think its reputation is much closer to that of SciARC than to the other three schools.

What are you looking to get out of a B.Arch program? Do you have any thoughts on what you want to do professionally?

Apr 2, 14 7:24 pm  · 
 · 

I'm tag teaming with the og for my own sake and answering the questions - i think: