Archinect
anchor

Business undergrad going for M.Arch

Prometheus

I graduated with a BS from IIT in Business Administration in 2010. I didn't really like business but stuck with it mainly for financial (economic and financial aid) reasons and the fact that I thought I was cut-out for mechanical engineering but discovered I wasn't. I graduated with a less-than-stellar 2.8 GPA, partly because of my poor performance during my time as an engineering student but also because of my B grades as a business student. I currently work for a bank, but I have spent a significant part of my childhood drawing and designing things; sadly it took me a long time to really grasp the fact that I wanted to study architecture, missing many opportunities along the way. The M.Arch offers me the chance to finally study architecture (aiming for Fall 2015). I realize that I am at a disadvantage because I am not from a design background and because of my GPA, but I'm determined to try and willing to accept the fact that I don't qualify for the Harvards, RISDs, and Yales of the world. To that end I've been looking at IIT, SAIC, UIC, Urbana-Champaign, and Southern Illinois-Carbondale since they are in my home state but also because I feel I would have a better chance at these schools. My questions are really: 1) I plan on submitting a portfolio with sketches and digital renderings of various buildings I've "designed" in order to demonstrate that I am able to visualize my design ideas, and I also plan on having some of my original furniture designs built for me and the photos and sketches included in the portfolio. What else should I focus on doing to show that despite my business background that I can succeed in design? 2) I will absolutely need to take the GRE to make up for my poor GPA. What else can I do to help mitigate the negative effects of the GPA? 3) I've visited and have prior experience with IIT's school of architecture from a previous undergraduate project but also from the large am