Archinect
anchor

MArch Decision - Any comments on UBC, UofT, or RISD?

genevievebaleine

Hi!

I've been accepted to UBC, UofT, and RISD for my MArch degree. I don't think anyone knows what it's like to go to a school until they do, so I'm hoping there are some past and present students out there that wouldn't mind commenting on their personal experience. I have my own preconceived notions, but they could be totally wrong! The only school I haven't had the chance to visit in person is UBC, so details regarding their facilities and program would be especially helpful. 

Mar 31, 14 11:37 am
brunchEGGS

A friend of mine went to UBC and hated it. Also, there aren't a lot of job opportunities in the BC area. I'd say bank on either UofT or RISD. A side note, the Toronto industry is still pretty strong. 

Mar 31, 14 12:13 pm  · 
 · 
genevievebaleine

Thanks for your response! I'm actually currently living and working at an architecture firm in Toronto. I think if I studied at UBC, I'd want to come back east regardless. One of the big benefits of going to UBC for me is that the program would only be 2.5 years, whereas UofT would be 3.5 years- making it a lot less expensive. Do you have any insight into why your friend disliked UBC?

Mar 31, 14 12:33 pm  · 
 · 
clairemk

hey,

i'll be going to UofT in september - but i was given advanced placement, so it'll be 2.5 years. I would say UofT probably has a much more international faculty than UBC, also, if you plan on working out east anyways, you'll probably make better connections at UofT. Right now I work at a well known design firm in Toronto, and most of my colleagues went to UofT or american schools, i don't personally know of anyone in the office who went to UBC... UofT also has a substantial financial aid program called UTAPS, which, you will qualify for if you're applying for OSAP, so that helps. but... on the other hand, they're moving soon, so i don't know what that says for studio space. just my two cents.