Archinect
anchor

A fair starting wage

rednotdead

I graduated with a B.Arch last summer and have been working since October as a fulltime 50 hour a week employee at a husband/wife firm since (they also both teach as professors). I'm paid minimum wage hourly - they say they cant afford to pay me any more than that.

I work on almost all levels of their projects, though the projects are small and not worth mention. Drawings, some design, agency research, etc. 

Is this reasonable? My rent and gas fare (living in SoCal...) pretty much eats my wage right up - and other than basic experience the job gives me nothing impressive to put in my portfolio Sometimes I find myself in despair at the situation, and think maybe I should ask for a raise of some sort. Without my work they would have no firm.

On the other hand, this is my first job after all - I have very little other experience other than a one off internship and I'm no Revit wizard, so I realize I am not as competitive as I ought to be.

What do you guys think? At what point is a raise reasonable/expected?

Mar 31, 14 1:07 am
file

A firm that "can't afford" to pay you more than minimum wage is not a viable firm - they're just taking advantage of you. Start looking elsewhere for a real job.

Mar 31, 14 7:58 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Start looking for something else today. You should expect about 35 to 38K/year starting salary which is about 16 to $18/hour.

Mar 31, 14 8:28 am  · 
 · 
bklyntotfc

You're getting screwed...but just as accurately, you're allowing yourself to get screwed.  Move on, and do it on good terms so that you can use them as a reference, etc.

Mar 31, 14 8:59 am  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

SoCal might be the worst place to start out in architecture....Run!

Mar 31, 14 10:36 am  · 
 · 
rednotdead

I was anticipating these replies. Something just didn't feel right about the situation...

Is there a reason SoCal is so terrible to start in?

Mar 31, 14 12:50 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla