Archinect
anchor

Any Advice For Freshman Year Students ? Thanks!

WilsonWu

Hi,

I am an freshman year undergraduate student, and I would like to hear some advice from you guys because I believe your experiences are pretty valuable for my future study. Any suggestions or opinions are welcome. Here are some facts about me.

1. international student from China

2. School: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 

3. Program: Bachelor of Science in Architecture. (Which means I may need to pursue an accredited Master Degree )

Thank you so much!

Mar 30, 14 4:09 pm

LEARN TO MANAGE YOUR TIME! 

Easier said than done for sure. But it will help you tenfold through your college years. Looking back I think almost all of my all nighters were preventable with realistic goals and planning.

BSArch and MArch, University of Illinois at Chicago.

Mar 30, 14 4:37 pm  · 
 · 

Choose a different profession.

And learn to post in the appropriate category, in this case "Academia".

Mar 30, 14 4:45 pm  · 
 · 
WilsonWu

Thank you.

Mar 30, 14 4:52 pm  · 
 · 
apapaz
At uiuc you don't have studio your first year and you start your second year and in my opinion it's total b.s. and puts the students behind. But to make up for it there are more technology courses that they require than most schools. I go there now and I love to school, love the program but it's a little bit unmotivating until you get into 3rd yr studio. So hang in there if you are truly passionate. Start taking some Arch history courses your freshman year to get those out of the way it will help you later on have more free time to work on projects than having to worry about papers. Otherwise your freshman year should be a breeze.
Mar 30, 14 5:46 pm  · 
 · 

WilsonWu, I would recommend you take as many electives early as you can. Get electives outside of the architecture department. I went there for my M Arch degree and UIUC is a good program but you have to be proactive in your efforts.