Archinect
anchor

Interior Architecture vs Architecture

mziasheik

I am considering a M. Interior Architecture from Cal Poly Pomona.  I have an Undergraduate degree in International Studies, so at this point I don't know much about Interior Architecture vs Architecture.  From what I've heard and researched they are very different, and Interior Architecture is basically Interior Design with a different title.  Is this true?  I am interested in designing structures, but more for the interior rather than exterior (ie staircases, shapes of rooms, etc).  Would this be something I would be doing in a future career with a degree in Interior Architecture, or will I just be given the already created shell of the space and left to fill it?  I spoke with an advisor at UNC-Greensboro who told me I would be working hand in hand with architects in a future career, but I'm wondering exactly how much input I could expect in terms of designing the actual structure of a building.  And if I did choose to follow through with this degree is Cal Poly Pomona a good school or would somewhere else be better, even if I'm only getting a second Bachelors degree?  Thanks!

Mar 28, 14 9:57 am
Non Sequitur

Architecture > interior design and interior architecture is just interior design re-branded to sound better.

You may get a chance to look at stairs and whatnot studying int-design but it's rather unlikely. I've come to understand through practice that many int-des programs spend more time training their students to think they have architectural skills rather than teach them said skills. Just make sure you have a decent portfolio when applying to architecture schools.

Mar 28, 14 10:44 am  · 
 · 
C. Watts

Get a degree in architecture, this is what you are looking for.  Interior will deal more with furniture, colors, materials. 

Mar 28, 14 11:06 am  · 
 · 
nycdesigns