Archinect
anchor

Need advise - from PhD architecture to Master Civil Eng

shinra

Hi all,

I was recently keep thinking of changing my major from architecture to civil engineering.  Currently I am a PhD student in architecture (the first year). I have both bachelor and master degree in architecture. My Master focuses on design computation dealing with CAD CAM and a some FEA for elementary performance-based structural analysis.

I love to do math (calculus, statistics -regression etc, geometry etc), although I am not sure if it is adequate for civil engineering. I guess my knowledge in calculus is just in the average of calculus 2 student (I plan to work hard improving this). 

I am planning to apply for master in Civil engineering, doing it together with my PhD architecture later in my third year (after finishing all classes required). However, I do not know if it is possible from student with background in architecture to go to civil engineering without taking the bachelor first. I have never seen or heard people doing this before, usually the vice versa. But I know one of my professor has both PhD architecture and graduate degree from electrical engineering, so i guess there is a possibility for that. 

Btw, I am 26 years old now, so I kinda feel old if I have to take civil from bachelor again. 

Please advise (examples of such cases will be very helpful). 

Thanks.

Mar 25, 14 11:59 am
jdparnell1218

Ever think about getting a job?  How long have you been in school?  I kind of feel like a PhD in architecture is unnecessary.  You only need a MArch. be an architect, and in some states, like my home state of Tennessee, you don't even need that.  I'm not sure how much having a co-degree in civil or electrical engineering will help.  Maybe it will, I don't really know.  At a certain point, you are gilding the lily with all the degrees.  Professional work goes much further than more schooling.

Of course, you could be working and I don't know it.  Just my two cents.