Archinect
anchor

creating a revit space frame

2step

In creating a roof structure with a space frame and glazing panels. I've fumbled with the best way to do this the better part of the day. I've tried making a roof family but this doesn't seem to work right. I've also tride making a curtain wall but I can't get the verticle members in without making each one seperate and thus its not really an assembly where the top and bottom surfaces move together.

Does anyone have any idea the best way to tackel the frame problem? There has to be a better way than making a structural module and arraying it and putting a roof over that. There's very little online about this task beyon some bad rfa files.

Feb 24, 10 10:32 pm
harold

There are many ways to do it. Here are two

http://buildz.blogspot.com/2009/07/something-useful-space-frame.html

http://www.technology4design.com/?p=671

Feb 25, 10 9:59 am  · 
 · 
2step

Thanks Harold, Im still rather new to Revit and pulling my hair out every day with every task

Feb 25, 10 10:15 am  · 
 · 
2step

That second link is great, I wish the $5000 out of the box software package came with that useful tool for 3d structure.

Feb 25, 10 10:22 am  · 
 · 
2step

Unfortunately that first link is for a panel I can not load into my project. It's apparently much more than just a panel.

Could Revit be anymore overly complicated?

Feb 25, 10 10:53 am  · 
 · 
2step

Divided surface is the way to go! Still though, ultra complicated

Feb 25, 10 11:22 am  · 
 · 
Philarch

But the second link is really about using a CAD file to create Revit geometry. Which is useful, but not ideal for space frames. You want it to recognize units that are more comprehensive than individual pieces and it has no parametric capabilities at all.

2step, the first link will work with the conceptual mass family. I was able to make it work when getting the embedded panel family from the conceptual mass family, and not using the panel family directly.